Ichabod is itchy

June 7, 2006

Time spent in between

Filed under: reflections — by ichabodisitchy @ 3:38 pm

I'm in between jobs at the moment. Not for long– my last day was Friday and now I have a brief respite until Monday, when I start my new job. I've timed it pretty well– the sun having finally decided to make an appearance this summer. The gorgeous weather, combined with my being internet-less over the past few days, has meant I've spent most of my 'time in between' sat in the garden, reflecting on the last two years of work and going over all the things I've done and learnt at what was, my first 'real' job.

Despite being a novice blogger, I have already learnt that it is not good etiquette to discuss office life on your blog (although I dare say that having already left, I can hardly be dooced for doing so), so won't post all the ins and outs. But I do want to say a few words about my manager, Maxine (aka Petrona). With my new job offer in hand, I made a list of all the pros and cons against leaving my current position. The list of cons was, inevitably, fairly long. And the pros were small in number. But at the top of the pro list, in capital letters, was Maxine.

Maxine has guided me, through the last two years, with infinite patience and wisdom. She started off as 'just my manager' but rapidly became my mentor and my friend. I have learnt so much from her– about journal publishing, science editing and about life. I know I wouldn't have been given the opportunities I've had without her, nor the constant support or encouragement I needed to gain confidence as an editor. My new job is a great opportunity for me and I am so excited (if also a little nervous) about stepping up to the challenge, but I know it wouldn't have been possible without Maxine. 

And so, I woud like to thank you Maxine. For everything. I only hope I can do you credit by making this next stage of my life a success.

2 Comments »

  1. And thank you too Sian! I am very embarrassed to read the above, being British, but kind of pleased too because I do very much enjoy helping people to develop and in your case it was a very great pleasure because you are so talented. So I am glad you found it helped you.
    I am sure you’ll do very well in your new job and in any future projects you put your mind to.
    So thank you again for your very gracious posting and not saying in it that I talk too much (which I do).
    It was a pleasure working with you and I look forwards to a long and continuing friendship.
    xxxxxx

    Comment by Maxine — June 7, 2006 @ 7:16 pm |Reply

  2. very insightful read, thankyou.

    Comment by banshee — February 22, 2007 @ 7:57 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

